Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (2024)

Skip to content

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Products or services may be offered by an affiliated entity. Learn more.

/ Mattress Reviews / Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings

Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (28)

Lauren Fountain Senior Product Editor

Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (29)

Lauren Fountain

Senior Product Editor

Lauren is a Certified Sleep Science Coach with extensive experience researching and testing a wide variety of sleep products.

Read Full Bio

Want to read more about all our experts in the field?

Learn About The Editorial Team

Methodology

Sleep Foundation

Product Research Methodology: Our Process

Our team at Sleep Foundation conducts extensive hands-on tests for each mattress to provide you with the most reliable, data-driven recommendations and reviews. Below are key guidelines that inform our testing methodology:

  1. Our testers lie on the surface of each mattress to evaluate factors such as contouring and support. We also use specialized tools to measure performance criteria like pressure relief, heat retention, and motion isolation.
  2. We test each mattress using various sleep positions to observe whether a mattress is better suited for side, back, or stomach sleeping. We roll around the surface and sit on the edges to gauge ease of movement and perimeter support.
  3. We have tested hundreds of mattresses and bring years of experience in the mattress industry to the test lab. Our testing team covers a wide range of sleep preferences, sleep positions, and body types. This helps us represent as many sleeper types as possible in our reviews.

Explore Our Full Methodology

Up-to-Date

Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (30)

Overall Rating8.4

Shop Now

$3,399 from Serta (queen)

Price Range:$2,999 – $4,099

Mattress Type: Hybrid

Firmness Options: Medium Soft (4), Medium (5), Firm (7)

Pros & Cons:

  • Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (37)

    Excellent at relieving pressure
  • Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (38)

    Couples and co-sleepers should experience little motion transfer
  • Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (39)

    Solid support for back and side sleepers under 130 pounds
  • Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (40)

    Durable mattress from an established brand
  • Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (41)

    Adjusting positions requires more effort on the hybrid model’s memory foam
  • Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (42)

    Weaker edge support makes the foam model’s sides more prone to sagging
  • Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (43)

    Foam model may sleep warm
  • Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (44)

    Cost-prohibitive for some shoppers on a budget

Serta is a leading bedding company that has been making mattresses for nearly a century. In addition to several collections of mattresses, Serta makes bases, adjustable bed frames, mattress protectors, sheets, and pillows. Serta products can be purchased through the company’s website or at various retailers throughout the United States.

The Serta Arctic line features Reactex technology, which utilizes a three-layer cooling cover made with phase change material designed to rapidly absorb and dissipate heat. The Plush Foam and Medium Hybrid are four-layer mattresses with distinct feels. Shoppers can also upgrade to the Premier Firm Foam or Premier Plush Hybrid, which have an additional layer of foam or spring coils.

In addition to the Arctic, Serta offers three other mattress lines: the flagship Serta collection, the Perfect Sleeper, and iComfort. The Serta collection is the most budget-friendly and includes the Serta Mattress and the Serta Mattress-in-a-Box. The Perfect Sleeper is available as an all-foam model or as a hybrid made with HexCloud gel memory foam and pocketed coils. The iComfort and Arctic collections feature hybrid and all-foam models designed to sleep cooler than the average mattress.

We breakdown everything you need to know about the Serta Arctic Mattresses, including materials, construction, and pricing. We also compare how the designs perform for different sleep positions and body types so you can find the best mattress for your needs.

  • Choose Plush Foam if… you’re a side or back sleeper under 130 pounds who likes the feel of a soft mattress. Lighter sleepers don’t put as much pressure on a mattress’ surface, so they benefit from a softer mattress that eases pressure points on the hips, shoulders, and spine. Since the all-foam construction isolates motion very well, it’s also a great choice for co-sleepers who like a plush mattress and easily awaken from sound or movement.
  • Choose Premier Firm Foam if… you’re a combination sleeper over 230 pounds. The firmest model in the Arctic collection, the Premier Firm Foam provides extra support while still reducing movement along the mattress’ surface. Our testers found this mattress conforming enough for above average pressure relief, while firm enough to prevent excessive sagging under any area of the body.
  • Choose Premier Plush Hybrid if… you’re a side or back sleeper under 130 pounds and are looking for a high-end mattress with solid edge support. This upgraded hybrid model has an ultra-plush memory foam comfort system on top of a support core made of individually wrapped coils. We also noted good edge support from the design’s foam encasem*nt along the entire perimeter.
  • Choose Medium Hybrid if… you’re a side sleeper. This mattress impressed our testers, performing well for pressure relief and motion isolation. The medium firmness conforms to the shoulders and hips, helping the spine stay level. The Medium Hybrid’s also has reinforced foam perimeter that noticeably improves edge support, boosting our rating for sex over the Arctic foam models.

Sleeping Style and Body Weight

Serta Arctic – Plush Foam

Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (45)

Side Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

9/10

130-230 lbs

8/10

Above 230 lbs

7/10

Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (46)

Back Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

7.5/10

130-230 lbs

6.5/10

Above 230 lbs

5.5/10

Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (47)

Stomach Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

6.5/10

130-230 lbs

5.5/10

Above 230 lbs

4.5/10

Serta Arctic – Firm Foam

Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (48)

Side Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

5.5/10

130-230 lbs

7.5/10

Above 230 lbs

7.5/10

Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (49)

Back Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

6/10

130-230 lbs

8/10

Above 230 lbs

8/10

Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (50)

Stomach Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

5.5/10

Above 230 lbs

7.5/10

Serta Arctic – Plush Hybrid

Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (51)

Side Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

9/10

130-230 lbs

8/10

Above 230 lbs

7/10

Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (52)

Back Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

7.5/10

130-230 lbs

6.5/10

Above 230 lbs

5.5/10

Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (53)

Stomach Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

6.5/10

130-230 lbs

5.5/10

Above 230 lbs

4.5/10

Serta Arctic – Medium Hybrid

Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (54)

Side Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

8.5/10

130-230 lbs

9/10

Above 230 lbs

7/10

Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (55)

Back Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

7/10

130-230 lbs

7.5/10

Above 230 lbs

5.5/10

Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (56)

Stomach Sleepers

Under 130 lbs

6/10

130-230 lbs

6.5/10

Above 230 lbs

4.5/10

Side Sleepers

The Medium and Premier Plush Hybrids performed well for our team’s side sleepers of all body weights. Two layers of memory foam permitted just enough sinkage to prevent pressure points on their hips and shoulders, while adaptive pocketed coils delivered even contouring to help level their spines.

Performance is more mixed for side sleepers on the Plush and Premier Firm Foam mattresses. The Plush Foam performed exceptionally well for our sleepers under 130 pounds, but didn’t provide the needed support for people above this threshold. The Premier Firm Foam was the opposite, exceeding our expectations for sleepers over 230 pounds, but feeling too firm for lighter individuals.

Back Sleepers

Back sleepers are more flexible when it comes to firmness, as the spine is already pretty level when lying on the back. Despite their distinct feels, the Plush Foam and Medium Hybrid mattresses performed about the same for the back sleepers on our team. Both models are firm enough to limit excessive sagging below the lower back for back sleepers under 130 pounds, but didn’t perform as well for heavier testers.

Back sleepers over 230 pounds tend to prefer firmer mattresses that resist sagging, and the heavier back sleepers on our team found the Premier Firm Foam to be the most comfortable mattress in the Arctic collection. The Premier Plush Hybrid performed well for back sleepers on our team who weigh less than 230 pounds.

Stomach Sleepers

Stomach sleepers have the hardest time maintaining good sleep posture since the midsection can sink into a mattress and cause the lower back to arch uncomfortably. A firm mattress is needed to reinforce this area and keep the hips and shoulders even.

Our in-house testing showed that only the Arctic Premier Firm Foam Mattress resisted sinkage below the belly and is a good fit for most stomach sleepers. The firm (7) surface is supportive enough for stomach sleepers over 130 pounds, but may feel too firm or slightly hard to those under 130 pounds.

While the Medium Hybrid performed well for our testers under 130 pounds, both the Plush Foam and Premier Plush Hybrid compress too easily under weight and pressure for the needs of stomach sleepers and may contribute to improper spinal alignment.

Mattress Performance

In addition to the hands-on feedback from our team, we conduct a number of quantitative tests in ourTest Lab. The below ratings are based on the experience of our testers.

Motion Isolation

7.5/10

Plush Foam: 10 / 10

Firm Foam: 8 / 10

Plush Hybrid: 8 / 10

Medium Hybrid: 8 / 10

Each Serta Arctic Mattress has two thick memory foam comfort layers that absorb significant motion. As such, couples will barely notice when their partner changes positions or gets in and out of bed. Sleeping with an active pet is also less likely to cause unwanted disturbances.

Since the all-foam models have a dense polyfoam core instead of springy coils, they performed slightly better in our tests. The hybrid still isolates motion better than the typical mattress, thanks to pocketed coils that move independently. Motion disturbances shouldn’t be an issue on either model, even if you’re not the soundest sleeper.

Pressure Relief

8/10

Plush Foam: 10 / 10

Firm Foam: 8 / 10

Plush Hybrid: 8 / 10

Medium Hybrid: 8 / 10

Our testing team found that the Arctic’s use of two types of memory also delivered standout pressure relief.

High-density memory foam conforms to sleepers while gently cushioning pressure points. The layer of gel-infused memory foam hugs the body without permitting deep sinkage. With its plusher feel and extra cushioning, the all-foam mattress rates higher in this category.

Temperature Control

7.5/10

Plush Foam: 4 / 10

Firm Foam: 4 / 10

Plush Hybrid: 6 / 10

Medium Hybrid: 6 / 10

The mattress is fairly good at regulating temperature, but our testers noted that the Arctic slept warmer than expected. The hybrid models performed about average for a memory foam mattress, while the foam models retained significant body heat.

Despite its various cooling features, some sleepers may find that the Arctic still sleeps too warm.

Edge Support

7/10

Plush Foam: 2 / 10

Firm Foam: 4 / 10

Plush Hybrid: 6 / 10

Medium Hybrid: 6 / 10

Solid edge support is important for co-sleepers or anyone who likes to fully spread out while sleeping. A stable perimeter also makes getting in and out of bed easier.

We found good edge support on the hybrid models thanks to the coil core that resists deep compression. Foam reinforcement along the perimeter of these models also minimizes the feeling of rolling off the mattress.

Our team was less impressed with the edge support of the foam models. Sleepers on the foam models may experience excess sagging when sitting or lying close to the sides of the bed.

Ease of Movement

6.5/10

Plush Foam: 4 / 10

Firm Foam: 6 / 10

Plush Hybrid: 4 / 10

Medium Hybrid: 6 / 10

Ease of movement reflects a mattress’ relative bounce versus sinkage. Many people, especially combination sleepers, appreciate some springiness to facilitate movement.

Most people should find it fairly easy to adjust positions on the Arctic Mattress, though the softer surface on the plush models does hinder movement. Our team found it easiest to move on the firmer surface of the Premier Firm Foam and Medium Hybrid models.

Off-Gassing

7/10

Plush Foam: 4 / 10

Firm Foam: 4 / 10

Plush Hybrid: 6 / 10

Medium Hybrid: 6 / 10

New mattresses sometimes have a noticeable smell caused by off-gassing, which occurs during the breakdown of volatile organic compounds (VOCs) inside materials like foam. Many people find the odors unpleasant, but they eventually dissipate with time.

Serta uses CertiPUR-US certified foams with low VOCs, so off-gassing odors are pretty mild. Any lingering smells disappear within about 72 hours, and sooner if the mattress is in a well-ventilated room.

Serta Arctic Mattress Coupon

Sleep Foundation Special Offer

$3,399 from Serta (queen)

see best price

Serta Arctic Mattress Review Breakdown

Serta’s Arctic Mattress line is a collection of all-foam and hybrid models. The Plush Foam and Premier Plush Hybrid models have a medium soft feel that we rate as a 4 on our 10-point firmness scale. The Medium Hybrid is notably firmer and is rated as a 5, while the Premier Firm Foam is a firm model rated at a 7. The Plush Foam and Medium Hybrid mattresses are both 13.5 inches tall and the Premier models both have a height of 14.5 inches.

All Arctic mattresses feature Serta’s proprietary Reactex cover made with phase change material and gel-infused memory foam. All three layers of the cover are engineered to absorb and release heat from the body.

The Plush Foam and Medium Hybrid models utilize comfort systems that start with a layer of CustomFit high-density memory foam that evenly contours the body without permitting deep sinkage. A second layer of EverCool memory foam boosts pressure relief, while gel infusions are designed to dissipate heat.

The Premier models come with upgraded memory foam, which is engineered to enhance each mattress’ feel and performance. Additionally, both Premier models have an added layer of support. The Premier Firm Foam adds a layer of pressure relief foam while the Premier Plush Hybrid adds a layer of micro-coils to further enhance contouring.

A high-density polyfoam core reinforces the upper comfort layers on the Plush Foam and Premier Firm Foam models. The sturdy foam minimizes sagging below heavier body parts while adding a touch of responsiveness.

The Medium Hybrid and Premier Plush Hybrid use pocketed coils instead of polyfoam for support and to increase the mattress’ durability. Each fabric-encased coil moves independently, adapting to the unique contours of each sleeper. Foam reinforcement along the perimeter is designed to increase edge support so sleepers don’t feel like they’re rolling off the sides of the bed.

Serta Arctic Mattress – Plush Foam & Premier Firm Foam

Firmness

Plush Foam – 4, Premier Firm Foam – 7

Mattress Type

Foam

Construction

The Serta Arctic Foam Mattresses feature a Reactex cooling cover, multiple layers of memory foam and a polyfoam support core.

Cover Material:

Reactex System: Phase Change Material and Gel-Infused Memory Foam

Comfort Layer:

CustomFit High-Density Memory Foam (Plush), Peak Support High-Density Memory Foam (Firm), EverCool Fuze Gel Memory Foam (Plush, Firm)

Support Core:

Polyfoam

Serta Arctic Mattress – Medium Hybrid & Premier Plush Hybrid

Firmness

Medium Hybrid – 5, Premier Plush Hybrid – 4

Mattress Type

Foam

Construction

The Serta Arctic Hybrid Mattress includes the Reactex cooling cover, a multi-layered memory foam comfort system, and pocketed coils.

Cover Material:

Reactex System: Phase Change Material and Gel-Infused Memory Foam

Comfort Layer:

CustomFit High-Density Memory Foam (Medium), Deep Reaction Max Gel Memory Foam (Plush), EverCool Fuze Gel Memory Foam (Medium, Plush)

Support Core:

Pocketed Coils with Foam Reinforcement

Mattress Prices and Sizing

The Serta Arctic Mattress has an above-average sticker tag that reflects its taller profile, trademarked Serta materials, and durable construction. The Plush Foam and Medium Hybrid models are priced the same. The Premier models are somewhat more expensive because they incorporate premium memory foam and additional support layers. Even so, all Arctic models are competitively priced when compared to similar luxury mattresses on the market.

Shoppers should note that the Arctic Mattress only comes in four sizes: twin XL, queen, king, and California king. Standard twin and full sizes are not available. The Medium Hybrid and Plush Foam models measure 13.5 inches tall, while the Premier models measure 14.5 inches tall.

Serta Arctic Mattress – Plush Foam

SizesDimensionsHeightWeightPrice
Twin XL38″ x 80″13.5″N/A$2999
Queen60″ x 80″13.5″N/A$3399
King76″ x 80″13.5″N/A$4099
California King72″ x 84″13.5″.N/A$4099

Serta Arctic Mattress – Firm Foam

SizesDimensionsHeightWeightPrice
Twin XL38″ x 80″14.5″N/A$3,499
Queen60″ x 80″14.5″N/A$3,899
King76″ x 80″14.5″N/A$4,599
California King72″ x 84″14.5″.N/A$4,599

Serta Arctic Mattress – Plush Hybrid

SizesDimensionsHeightWeightPrice
Twin XL38″ x 80″14.5″N/A$3,499
Queen60″ x 80″14.5″N/A$3,899
King76″ x 80″14.5″N/A$4,599
California King72″ x 84″14.5″.N/A$4,599

Serta Arctic Mattress – Medium Hybrid

SizesDimensionsHeightWeightPrice
Twin XL38″ x 80″13.5″N/A$2999
Queen60″ x 80″13.5″N/A$3399
King76″ x 80″13.5″N/A$4099
California King72″ x 84″13.5″.N/A$4099

Sleep Foundation Special Offer

$3,399 from Serta (queen)

see best price

Trial, Warranty, and Shipping Policies

Availability

The Serta Arctic Mattress is sold through the company’s website, Amazon, and select online and physical stores throughout the U.S.

Serta ships to the contiguous U.S. Shipping to Alaska or Hawaii is not possible at this time.

Shipping

Serta ships the Arctic Mattress for free to customers in the contiguous U.S. Most orders are delivered within two to four weeks of order placement.

The mattress ships fully decompressed via a third-party courier like FedEx Ground. With Standard Threshold Delivery, the mattress is delivered to your doorstep. Professional installation isn’t required, but at least two people are needed to move the mattress.

Shipping timelines and policies vary when purchasing the mattress from a third-party retailer.

Additional Services

Customers may elect for White Glove Delivery for a nonrefundable $150 fee. The service includes setting up your new bed, discarding of packaging, and old mattress and box spring removal. Serta’s courier reaches out to customers to schedule a delivery date.

Of note, California residents are eligible for free old mattress removal with standard delivery.

Sleep Trial

The Arctic Mattress comes with a 120-night sleep trial when purchased from Serta. Customers can return the mattress for a full refund during the trial. Serta recommends testing the mattress for at least a few weeks since it can take time to adjust to a new bed.

Warranty

Serta backs the Arctic Mattress with a 10-year limited warranty that protects customers from manufacturing and material defects. The warranty does not cover damage caused by misuse or neglect. See Serta’s website for additional terms and conditions.

Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (57)

Still have questions?

Our product experts have extensive experience testing just about every sleep product on the market. Send an email to [emailprotected] or call us at (877) 672-8966 with your questions and we’ll help you find exactly what you’re looking for.

About Our Editorial Team

Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (58)

Written By

Lauren Fountain,Senior Product Editor

Lauren is a Certified Sleep Science Coach with extensive experience researching and testing a wide variety of sleep products.

Learn more about our Editorial Team

Other Articles of Interest

Find the Best Mattress

Best Mattress 2024Best Mattress for Side SleepersBest Mattress for Back PainBest Firm MattressBest Cooling Mattress

Mattress Accessories

Best Mattress ToppersBest Mattress ProtectorsBest Adjustable BedsBest Mattress PadsBest Bed Frames

Mattress Information

How to Choose a MattressHow Much Does a Mattress Cost?Best Time to Buy a MattressMattress SizesWhen Should You Replace Your Mattress?

Serta Arctic Mattress Review – Test Lab Ratings (2024)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Margart Wisoky

Last Updated:

Views: 5948

Rating: 4.8 / 5 (58 voted)

Reviews: 81% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Margart Wisoky

Birthday: 1993-05-13

Address: 2113 Abernathy Knoll, New Tamerafurt, CT 66893-2169

Phone: +25815234346805

Job: Central Developer

Hobby: Machining, Pottery, Rafting, Cosplaying, Jogging, Taekwondo, Scouting

Introduction: My name is Margart Wisoky, I am a gorgeous, shiny, successful, beautiful, adventurous, excited, pleasant person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.